Canada Trip Highlights

Hi all!  My family just got back from an incredible trip to Canada, and I took lots of pictures that I thought I’d share.  We were in Montreal, Quebec (pronounced keh-beck) City, and Ottawa (in Ontario). While I didn’t rack up 213 photos like I did in DC, I still took 43 that really highlighted the trip.  The captioned pictures below are my favorites, the ones that I feel most capture our time there, and the others are located in the slideshow.

This is the view from our hotel, the world-famous Chateau Frontenac, on a cloudy day in Quebec City.  Quebec City, once the capital of New France during the 1600s, is located on the Saint Lawrence River, which was the main connection between the Atlantic Ocean and the Great Lakes.  Despite the look of two rivers in the picture, it is actually only one river, separated by Ile d’Orleans, a small farming island. You can also see the lower Old City below the balcony.
One day, we went on a four hour 16 mile bike tour from the Old City to nearby Montmorency Falls located just outside the city.  Montmorency Falls is 275 feet high, 108 feet taller than Niagara Falls! We enjoyed a magnificent view of the falls by boarding a cable car and walking to a gigantic suspension bridge running right in front of it!  Although the heights were quite intimidating, I braved through it to get this spectacular picture, and I think it was well worth it!
This is a picture is of our hotel, Le Chateau Frontenac.  This hotel is gigantic, with 600 rooms on 18 floors, yet beautiful, and is even featured on the cover of Rick Riordan’s The Lost Hero (part of The Heroes of Olympus series).  In fact, the hotel is the most photographed hotel in the world.  Luckily, when I was taking my picture, it stopped raining and the sky turned a magnificent purple.  The hotel is so special it was designated as a National Historic Site of Canada in 1980.
My fourth and final favorite is probably the best photo I have ever taken:  a gorgeous sunset over the Ottawa River in Ottawa. We were on our way home from a delicious dinner when we decided we just had to stop and take a look.  Ottawa is a very unique city because many people speak either French or English due to the fact that Ottawa is located on the border of Ontario, an English-speaking province, and Quebec, a French-speaking province.  It was cool and sort of funny standing in Ontario taking a picture of Quebec.

5 thoughts on “Canada Trip Highlights

  1. Nice pictures – sounds like a great trip. I love the one of Le Chateau Frontenac!
    Uncle Angelo

  2. Marco,

    Great photos – glad you enjoyed your trip to Canada and the Frontenac is also one of my favorite hotels.

    Pat

  3. Hi Marco, Loved the photos ,Would like to visit there and stay at those beautiful hotels. Also would loved to have gone on that magnificent hike It was truly a once in a lifetime experience. love Grandma Natalie

  4. Marco,
    Great photos. We especially love the hotel photo. You really captured some great moments. Hope we can joy you on your next trip.
    U. Max and Nico

  5. Canada was really a special place. Beautiful, great food, lovely nature, nice folks. You captured the scenery beautifully. I don’t think I noticed the purple sky after the rain that night. Great catch!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *