Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them Review

“I don’t think I’m dreaming… I ain’t got the brains to make this stuff up.”

 

Jacob Kowalski finds himself inside of a suitcase full of magical beasts, staring in awe at the incredible creatures before his eyes.  Newt Scamander, a British wizard who came to America to return one of his beasts to its native Arizona is attempting to catch one of his escaped creatures when he stumbles and accidentally switches suitcases with a No-Maj named Jacob.  When Jacob, a canner trying unsuccessfully start up a bakery, opens his suitcase at home and accidentally lets loose some of inhabitants of the case into his New York City apartment and gets bitten by a poisonous beast.  Once Newt realizes he switched suitcases, he knows that Jacob must be in trouble.  He finds Jacob, and to heal him, Newt brings him into his suitcase to make him a healing potion.

Fantastic Beasts and Where to find them is a fantasy movie about Newt Scamander, a British man who has dedicated his life to studying and writing about the magical beasts that inhabit the Earth.  Some of his beasts start escaping and causing mischief all over the city.  What he doesn’t realize is that it is the worst time for it, muggles are suspecting that witches live among them.  With tensions rising, will Newt and his new friends be able to restore the case full of beasts while trying to prove that they are not Gellert Grindelwald, and evil wizard’s fanatics?  And can they maybe even catch Grindelwald at the same time?

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them is similar to all of the Harry Potter films.  It was written by the same person (J.K. Rowling), and has many terms you would only get if you were a Potterhead (Harry Potter Fan).

 

My rating:  5/5 popcorns

Genre:  Fantasy/Action

Rating:  PG-13

Runtime:  2h 13m

 

Trailer

27 thoughts on “Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them Review

  1. I never heard of this movie. No surprise since I am not a potterhead or even a movie guy. It does sounds pretty cool. When did it come out in the theater?

  2. Can we give 6 out of 5 popcorns? By the way, notice what Jacob Kowalski’s initials are? I suspect he’s one of her favorite characters too. I know he’s one of mine.

    1. That’s really interesting — J. K.– huh. I never realized that before. Gosh, J.K Rowling you are SO brilliant!

    1. I loved the Harry Potter books (duh) and the whole protecting magical animals seemed really fitting to us. Who couldn’t like Newt?!

  3. Remember when we saw Fantastic Beasts together when it first came out? It seems like so long ago. I really loved the movie and the actors were incredible! Marco, I think you should do a section on actor skills and one for plot, because in some movies the plot is really good but the actors are not, or vise versa.

  4. Marco I remember this trailer not long ago. Thought it looked scary (I don’t like scary) but your review makes it sound more adventurous and magical. I’ll have to check it out. Do you know what time period it is set in for NYC? I love NY as the backdrop for films!

  5. We saw it in the theater with Granny and Grumpy. Granny knows I’ve long been a fantasy and sci-if buff, and she does tell me nicely it’s not her style, and I had to wheedle a little to get her to see the movie. She wound up really liking it!

    (And does this out bring me even with Aunt Lauren and your dad? 😏)
    Ok I gotta go to work now. Back to working 5days a week for the summer- gotta make the bucks to cover vacation and summer camp!

  6. Hi Marco, got a lot of responses on this blog. Sounds like it could be a fun movie. I like the idea of wild fantastic beasts, What are some of them? Are they all scary and bad or are some good guys? Grandma N

    1. All of Newt’s creatures are good. I wouldn’t say any of them are scary watching, but would be if they were real. One is called a demiguise, which is an invisible sloth. Another beast is a thunderbird, a huge hippogriff-like animal that can sense danger.

  7. Gellert Grindelwald is an evil character most Potter fans know from the Harry Potter stories. Newt and his friends through the story know he is a dangerous fugitive in Europe, and this is making the American magical community quite frightened- and frightened of discovery by non magical people. And when people make decisions because they are scared, they frequently don’t make decisions with clarity.

  8. The scary parts in the movie came not from the fantastic beasts mostly but from the people. The movie has something to say about prejudice and intolerance, with the Second Salem anti- witch movement.
    Marco, it’s my understanding that we had ancestors in Salem. On the side of the accusers.
    So this movie resonated with me a little more personally for that.
    It made me want to be a witch more.

  9. Marco,
    Thanks for the review. Although I am a Potter fan, I wasn’t planning to see this movie (didn’t think it could be as good as HP films). After your review and the blog comments, I think I’ll give it a try. Remind me, was this based on a book? If so, is worth the read?
    xo Aunt D

    1. Kinda. There is a “dictionary” that was used as a schoolbook in the Harry Potter books called Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them. I wouldn’t say it’s based on the dictionary, but it is inspired by it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *