A Reflection on Being 12

I have so many experiences to reflect on from the last year of my tweens.  My 13th birthday is tomorrow and I’m so excited.  From traveling to many places, to going back to Woodside Middle School for seventh grade, I have had great year.  I am very excited to be a teenager going into 8th grade!

Going back to Woodside Middle had some highlights and some challenges.  It was great to see all of my friends again, but not so great spending hours every night on homework.  For my first month at Woodside, I felt very overwhelmed, but I rose to the challenge.  I got As on my tests and did all of my homework, but had trouble finding ways to do things I really wanted to do and get my work done at the same time.  It was very hard fitting in horseback riding, which takes about two hours, and even just relaxing.  I really enjoyed my first month at Woodside, as well.  I loved seeing my friends and teachers and learning a variety of subjects.  All in all, I’m so glad that I went back.

Another highlight of my year was travel.  I love to travel, and am so lucky that I get to go to so many places.  One of my favorite trips was going to Avalon, New Jersey to see my aunt, uncle, and cousins last summer.  I got to go a week earlier than the rest of my family, and I loved every minute of it!  Every day, we went to the beach, played in the pool, and my favorite:  trying out restaurants.  My favorite was Jay’s on Third in Stone Harbor, New Jersey where I got a delicious asian-style halibut.  Some other places we went in chronological order include Mendocino, Russian River Valley, Southwest and Southeast Florida, Lake Tahoe, Monkton, MD, Washington D.C., and Point Reyes Station.  I feel very fortunate that I get to go on so many fun trips, so thank you to everyone who made these trips so special.


12 was one of the best years of my life, but I am very excited to be 13!  To me, being a teenager means being more mature and responsible.  The idea of being in 8th grade seems really cool because I’ve always looked up (figuratively and literally) to 8th graders, and being one seems special.  I’m really looking forward to history and the cool projects 8th graders get to do.  American History has always been one of my favorite subjects, and in 8th grade, you study it for the entire year!  I think it’s really cool to learn about your own country.  And it’ll be even cooler now that I’m a Hamilton fan!

Thank you to all who made my 12th year so special, and I can’t wait to see you all as a 13 year old!

8 thoughts on “A Reflection on Being 12

  1. Marco

    Even though I am really busy at work (in fact, on a call as I write this), I just had to read this blog post. And I couldn’t be happier that I did — honestly, this was very moving and I am going to have to regain my composure before turning back to my call. I am so incredibly proud of you — 13 years ago, I could not have imagined in my wildest dreams a son who is as unfailingly kind, thoughtful, clever and fun to be around as you. You, and your sister too of course, have brought immeasurable happiness into our lives. And I cannot wait to see what adventures year 13 brings (and every year thereafter).

    I love you, my son.

    — Dad

  2. Hi Marco, What a wonderful reflection.I am glad that you had such a wonderful year. But for 12 years you have given all of us wonderful years . From the day you were first born you made us know that you were a force to be reckoned with. you had a mind and strong will to be special. I know that 13 too will be special and all the years to follow, Make every day special by doing one thing that you love on that day. Have a great birthday, love Grandma N

  3. hi Marco!
    First, Happy Birthday! Second, it was fun reading your reflections. While we all tend to think about what’s ahead, it’s always good to reflect back. I am trying to remember what I was thinking about on my 13th birthday, and guess what? I have no idea! But if I had written something like you had, it’d help trigger lots of memories — so, third, it’s good you did it for that reason because before you know it, you’ll be writing about reflections on being 13 and may have forgotten things about being 12. Now you’ve set yourself up to reflect upon your reflections, which is really where it gets interesting, because the way you reflect upon things also can change, and so your “reflection reflection” (as I like to call it) becomes almost as important as your reflection. I suppose you could subsequently have a “reflection reflection reflection” whereby you’re reflecting upon a reflection, related to your original reflection. I’m sure you can imagine what’s next in that sequence, so i’ll stop there because reflecting upon that makes my head hurt!

    anyway, nice job and have a great day to day.

    love, ua

  4. Happy birthday!!!!! I enjoyed reading your reflection on the last year, and hope that this new year for you is as wonderful.

  5. Happy birthday Marco! Your reflection was great! Please keep sharing your thoughts and insights; I enjoy learning more and more about you!
    Looking forward to making 13 year old memories with you!
    xo Aunt D

  6. Hi Marco,

    Daddy and I are so proud of how hard you worked this year at school. You definitely gave it your all. That said, I hope this coming year allows for some more free time and some opportunities to just breathe. It was great to see you back with the gang — I think 8th grade will be a great year!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *