Marco’s Brazilian-Inspired Açaí Bowl Recipe

Hello!  Since I was in Washington D.C. for a school trip a few weeks ago, I’ve been away from my blog for a little while.  I would’ve liked to post this recipe a couple of weeks ago, but I realized that I didn’t have the ingredients in time to make it before I left.  This actually taught me the importance of having your ingredients double-checked ahead of time so that you won’t miss out! Sorry for the wait, I hope you guys didn’t get too worried!  So without any further delay, I’d like to share one of my favorite breakfast recipes with you, the açaí bowl.

 

The açaí bowl is a Brazilian recipe made of the açaí berry (pronounced ah-sigh-ee) and fresh fruit.  This delicious dish is garnished with an assortment of toppings that you can choose.  My favorites include goji berries, bee pollen, granola, bananas, and toasted coconut. Not only is this açaí tasty, but it’s also considered a superfood – a nutrient-rich food that is especially healthy.  The açaí berry contains antioxidants, healthy fats, and fibers, making it wholesome and nourishing. I discovered the açaí bowl when visiting my Aunt Debbie and Uncle Mark in Avalon, NJ two summers ago, and I’ve been making them ever since!  

Açaí berries, the superstars of this dish!

 

 

Here’s the recipe:

 

Marco’s Brazilian-Inspired Açaí Bowl

 

Time:

Serves: 1

 

Bowl Ingredients:

1 package of frozen açaí (I use and recommend Sambazon Original Blend)

1 banana

2 tbsp almond milk

1 tbsp almond butter

 

Toppings (all optional, but recommended):

1 banana

Granola

Chia seeds

Goji berries

Bee pollen

Shredded coconut

 

Step 1:

Put banana, açaí, almond milk, and almond butter into a blender.  If your blender isn’t very strong, you can try using a food processor.  I have tried it before and it sometimes works, sometimes doesn’t.

 

Step 2:  Blend the ingredients in a blender on a medium-high setting.  Blend until there are no more chunks of açaí left but it is still thick.  Put the açaí in a bowl and transfer to a freezer.

 

Step 3:  While the açaí is in the freezer, toast your coconut.  You will want to toast the coconut until it looks mostly light brown.

 

Step 4:  Take the açaí out of the freezer and add your toppings of choice.

 

Step 5:  Enjoy your açaí!  If you want, you can leave the açaí in the freezer for a little longer until colder, and then eat it once out of the freezer.  Pro Tip: This is a good time to do the dishes! And don’t forget – it’s best to put the goji berries in after you take the açaí out of the freezer so that they won’t become hard!

 

I hope you try this recipe at home and enjoy it as much as I do!  Once you get the hang of it, you can experiment with topping choices of your own!

3 thoughts on “Marco’s Brazilian-Inspired Açaí Bowl Recipe

  1. Hi Marco ,This sounds very interesting Will have to try it sometimes,, The only ingredient I cannot use is bee pollen I have allergic reactions to anything beey. Thanks Grandma Natalie

  2. Hey Marco,

    Why haven’t I tried this? It sounds yummy! And not so hard to do. I might have to have it for lunch though as breakfast time — I’m too cold.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *