Washington, DC – School Trip Highlights!

Hi all!  Three weeks ago, I went on a four day trip to Washington, DC with my school.  One of the highlights of the trip was taking pictures everywhere I went.  I took a total of 213 pictures, but since you probably wouldn’t want to see all 213, I decided to pick my absolute favorite pictures and pair them with captions, and then make a slideshow of my other 50 best (I decided 50 because I couldn’t narrow it down anymore).  I hope this post captures the awesome sights of our nation’s capital.

 

On the first day of the trip, my class went to Historic Jamestowne (no, not the kiddy model) and braved the chilly 47-degree weather. We learned all about life in the first permanent English settlement in the New World, and met someone from nearby Redwood City! This picture is of a statue of John Smith overlooking the James River.

 

 

On our second to last day, my class went into the city to go to the Capitol! This is a picture of the U.S. Capitol Building on a cloudy day.  We learned a lot about the Capitol itself, and we got to tour the building.  This helped better my knowledge of how our government works!

 

On our final day in Washington, we finished out strong by touring memorials and going to Mount Vernon. Because of the beautiful architecture and views of the Washington Monument, I decided to take a group photo with my friends Sebastian “Chan”, Manisha, and Nora. Lucky for us, the weather was beautiful that day!

 

This is a picture of me in front of one of the mansions at Mount Vernon. It was very beautiful because of its sprawling gardens and views of the Virginia hills. Mount Vernon was a great place to spend the last hours of the trip!

 

6 thoughts on “Washington, DC – School Trip Highlights!

  1. Wow, Marco. You have really become a skilled photographer. Those photos are really impressive. Are the last ones at the bottom also Mt. Vernon? You are making me want to go.

    1. Thank you so much! The bottom photo is at Mount Vernon and the photo above it is from the Holocaust Memorial. We did both on the same day.

  2. Hi Marco I loved all the pictures I too took a class trip to DC in 1955 my eighth grade trip It was a very exciting and fun time. I will never forget it Thanks for sharing your fun time too. love Grandma Natalie

  3. Hi Marco,

    Love your pictures. They are so clear, and really provide a sense of place. It really is true that – at least sometimes – pictures speak louder than words. Beautiful.

  4. Wow! The DC tourism bureau should hire you!! You’re photos are wonderful and capture be beauty of the sites. Thanks for sharing!!
    xo Aunt D

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *