What I Love About California Haiku

Taking pictures of a hill near our house, I thought about how much I love my home state, California.  It is such an incredible place as there’s so much to do and see from the Golden Gate Bridge to the Sierra Nevadas to the Pacific Coastline!  I could go on and on for hours listing what I love about California, so I decided to discipline myself by writing it in haiku form.  I was inspired by when I did a little bit of haiku in 7th grade when learning about Ancient Japan, and I thought it was a really interesting form of poetry!

 

What I Love About California

by Marco Calia

An old western town

hidden beneath the mountains

Woodside is my home

Colors of Woodside

Greens in warm spring rain,

yellows in the summer heat

Between five and six thousand

Lies a majestic golden town

No gold was found here

The path of Serra,

rocky coasts and dry valleys

Make up the bear’s lair

Gilroy garlic fries,

plump red strawberries

Did I mention cheese

6 thoughts on “What I Love About California Haiku

  1. Hi Marco, I commend you I could never do any kind of poetry It was beautiful The pictures most apropos California is a beautiful state and I am glad you started with your own backyard love Grandma Natalie

  2. Hi Marco,

    Super job on the haikus and the photography. I love California too, and you really capture it in your words and images! 🙂

    Kathryn

  3. Hi Marco
    Fantastic! I’m a haiku fan. Your photographs are great too. What type of camera are you using?
    Aunt D

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *