Adventures in Tahoe

Hi guys!  One weekend before school started, my family decided to finish off our summer with a fun one day excursion in Lake Tahoe.  We went to the north shore in a town called Tahoe Vista, a lovely town right along the lake. It is about a four hour drive from our house, so it was a nice getaway.  I had personally had never been to Lake Tahoe in the summer (I have been many times in the winter), so it was really cool the finally be able to swim in the lake! Here are some fun things that we did.

 

On Sunday morning, we went on an impromptu bike ride along the Truckee River.  The weather was beautiful, and we enjoyed great views of the mountains and river rafters struggling on the water.  We biked along the path all the way to Squaw Valley, the site of the 1960 Winter Olympics. While we were biking along one of Squaw’s many meadows, a bear and her cub quickly lumbered across the path right in front of my dad!  Unfortunately, we didn’t get a picture as the bears were too fast, but we all were able to see them!

 

After a quick snack the refreshment shack, we hopped on our rental paddleboards and went out on the lake.  The water was refreshingly cool and a beautiful blue. According to The Atlantic, Lake Tahoe appears blue because of low algae concentrations for a lake of its size.  We had fun paddleboarding for a while, and then went into shore. We had fallen in (and jumped in) a bunch of times, so we were quite wet.  It was fun though, as the water is warmer than Pacific water!

 

To finish our very full day, we went to Macbeth, played by the Lake Tahoe Shakespeare Festival.  They did a good job, and it was at a beautiful scenic location on the Nevada side. That was cool because I’d never been to Nevada before!  Overall, we had a great time in Lake Tahoe, and it finished off our summer quite nicely. While I’m not so sure how excited I am for school to be starting, I can confidently say I had an amazing summer.

4 thoughts on “Adventures in Tahoe

  1. Hi Marco,

    Thanks for reminding me about that lovely trip. I would highly recommend to anyone who is able, to spend some time in Tahoe in the summer. It is quite lovely. And the Shakespeare is not to be missed. That venue is one of the most stunning outdoor theaters I’ve been too.

  2. Hi Marco sounds like a really fun place to see.. I would have loved to have seen momma bear and her cub.. Also paddle boarding on the lake is something I want to try. I think your blog has made me think I need a vacation and soon I think Aunt Debbie will be getting visitors in Avalon love Grandma Natalie

  3. Hi Marco,
    What a fun (and exhausting) day! You guys were very busy. Sounds like I need to put Tahoe on my list to visit. Thanks for sharing.
    xo Aunt D

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *