Spotlight on Thought Bubbles

Hi friends!  As you probably know, my sister, Anna, has an amazing blog called Thought Bubbles.  She has been creating interesting posts for almost a year.  My favorite post that Anna has done so far is Blueberry’s Vegetarian Feast.  I like this post because it combines art and writing.  The program she used was really cool to look at, and I loved the original topic and the pictures that go along with it.  I also liked how you could buy it in hard copy!

 

MC:  What is your favorite thing that you’ve posted on your blog?

AC:  I really like my Pig Scramble series and Anna’s Edible Adventures because they’re fun to post and write about. For the pig scramble series, I really liked finding a way to use pictures to make a featured image.  And for Anna’s Edible Adventures, I really like taking pictures of my garden, and writing stuff about it because it’s not super serious – it can just be however I want it to be.

 

MC:  What types of foods do you like to cook/bake?

AC:  I really like to make fresh summer/springy kind of things. I like light things that aren’t super rich and heavy. And I really like to use my blow torch because it’s fun to torch bananas and fruit. I really like to bake not unusual but harder things – layered cakes and chocolate truffles and souffles. I don’t know why – its just fun!


MC:  What is your favorite part about having a blog?

AC:  I don’t really have a favorite part – I just like posting about what interests me and what I’ve done. Its a way for my family and for me to see what I’ve done, because there are no grades or measurements of what I’ve done and I like it that way, but the blog gives me an organized way to see what I’ve done without going through my messes of notes.

 

MC:  How did you come up with the name, “Thought Bubbles”?

AC:  Well, I wrote a poem… I think it was the first poem I wrote while homeschooling. I had to write a poem about my name – comparing my name to something. I came up with bubbles. I was trying to think of a name for my blog, and I was sitting and eating lunch and I looked at my poem and I thought – Thought Bubbles!

 

MC:  What are some things that you feature on your blog?

AC:  I feature what I’ve been working on and what I like to do – in a nutshell. The Pig Scramble has been a main topic, and Anna’s Adventures in Edibles have been a main interest lately.

 

MC:  What pictures do you take?  What is your favorite style of photography?

AC:  I take a lot of pictures of nature and anything I find interesting. The photo needs to be clear, and pretty.

 

MC:  What writing style do you use on your blog?

AC:  I do a bunch of things. I usually post what I’ve been working on in school or in the garden and I’ll usually give an intro of what I think about it or reflect on it in some way. Everything is justified to the center and I use awesome fonts. It’s very important to me.  I like conversational writing styles more than formal because then it doesn’t have to be all “pinkies up.”

6 thoughts on “Spotlight on Thought Bubbles

  1. Hi Marco, what a great piece, it is a nice work of reporting and interviewing. it shows real insight into your sister and her thought bubbles. good job!!!! grandma Natalie

  2. As a frequent reader of Thought Bubbles, it was interesting to get a little bit of “behind the scenes” info on Anna — the things she likes to write about and why. I’m still trying to understand why she won’t justify left — but I guess that’s just the artist in her. The font thing I understand a little better 🙂

  3. I too enjoy Thought Bubbles and enjoyed your interview with the author. Hope she continues the kitchen disaster series… That’s my favorite!
    xo Aunt D

  4. Hi,

    Maybe you could remind your sister that someone in the family has a bday on August 2? And she would really love a vanilla cake layered with cream and berries. With berries on top. Or, a berry tart. Reading this interview got me to thinking….

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *