How to Spend a Great Vacation

Whenever you go on a vacation, make sure you have a plan.  Vacations should be stress-free.  Don’t you hate getting somewhere and wasting time not knowing what to do?  Here are strategies to make sure that doesn’t happen.

 

Find good food

To me, sharing a good meal is a perfect way to spend time with family.  We talk about what is on our minds, about the great food in front of us, or even ideas we have. I love making up games like “The Or Game” and “Train” at dinner.

 

-Look for local flavor (don’t get sushi in Spain, get Spanish food!)

-Do some research!  If you go into a random restaurant, it has a chance of being good, bad, or just meh.  If you look on OpenTable or Yelp, you will get a good feel of what food you’re getting

-Try new things!  You may find you like something you’ve never tried.

 

Crespella, a delicious crêperie in Stone Harbor, NJ. We found it by walking around town, and a recommendation from my awesome Aunt Debbie!

 

Walk around town

Walking around town gives can give me the opportunity to familiarize myself with my surroundings.  Being a geography fan, I am always interested in the culture and area where I am.  I also love history, and walking allows me to see cool landmarks real and in person.

 

-Find interesting stores and talk to people, even if you’re not going to buy anything.  One of my favorite things is looking around a cooking store.  There are so many interesting gadgets!  Also, the people working at the stores know all about the town.  They can give you some insight on what to do.

-Geocache!  Geocaches help you find some of town’s coolest spots.

-Look for historical landmarks, especially if you’re in a place with a rich history

-Go for a morning walk to breakfast!  It will wake you up, and you’ll help the environment by walking.

 

I took a picture of this flower on a morning walk in Stone Harbor, NJ.

 

Others:

-Game nights are always fun!

-Relax and read.  Reading can take stress off your mind.

 

All of these ideas were based on my really fun trip to Avalon, NJ this summer.  Every summer, my family goes to my Aunt Debbie’s beach house in Avalon.  We played mini-golf, swam, hung out on the beach, ate great food, and my favorite:  spent time with family.

 

Please comment below stories about any fun adventures you have been on this summer, and what you like to do on vacation!  Thanks!

6 thoughts on “How to Spend a Great Vacation

  1. Hi Marco , What a wonderful blog. I am reliving all the fun I had in Avalon. It was great sharing so many fun experiences with you and Anna and your Mom. It was also fun having Big Mike there too. Aunt Debbie and Uncle Mark are always such wonderful hosts. I know Uncle Pat and Aunt Rosemary also had a fun time. One of the highlights you didn’t mention was the cooking challenge. That was great fun. I hope next year we can all have another great vacation. love Grandma N

  2. I think game night is a great idea. We had such a blast playing “heads up”. It was great bonding time.

    I’m also big on vacation reading. I don’t read nearly as much as I’d like to when home so vacation reading time is very special to me.

  3. Great advice Marco. I’m a big believer in research. For extra info on sights, museums, hiking trails, and (of course) restaurants, I like to ask friends and family who have already visited the destination for recommendations. I’ve gotten great suggestions of things to do, “insider” advice to skip lines, and special places not to be missed!
    Happy travels!!
    xo Aunt D
    ps Always LOVE having you and the fam in AV. Can’t wait for next summer!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *