Equilibrio

Hi friends!  Unfortunately, I have not posted anything in so long because I have been very busy with school, high school prep, and starting my new classes (theatre, art, and volunteering).  Just today, I was working on a high school application for one of the schools that I’m interested in, and I thought I should turn it into a blog post.  The prompt was, “What does balance mean to you?”.  This was my answer:

To me, balance means having a good amount of more than one thing. Balance means different things to me in different circumstances. At school, balance means learning a little bit of everything. In a school day, each class is a balance of eight periods. Balance also means having time to do things I enjoy doing outside of school, such as horseback riding and theatre, while having time to complete my homework. In one of my passions, cooking, balance is prominent and very important. You always have to have a balance of flavors, like salty and sweet. Salted caramel, a delicacy for many people, is a perfect example. Good salted caramels are sweet, buttery, and have a perfect hint of salt. The balance between salty and sweet is what makes salted caramel so good. To be honest, I’m not a huge fan of caramel, but I would much rather have salted caramel than regular caramel. Balance is a very important concept, and is found in our everyday lives. A balance of rain and sun makes flowers grow. A balance of passion and hard work forms character. And finally, a balance of grains, proteins, and vegetables makes a healthy diet. Without balance, the world would have too much of one thing and not enough of another. And even worse, a world without balance would be a world without salted caramel.

7 thoughts on “Equilibrio

  1. I sure do agree with that. I find balance one of the trickiest things in life. It’s also not just what you’re balancing but the size of the thing you’re trying to balance on. A thick cinderblock wall is easier than tightrope, but a slack line isn’t a walk in the park either! I think it’s great topic to have picked, and I like your title!

  2. Hi Marco,

    Your perception of balance is right on . And, you wrote the piece in such a warm/inviting tone that, I’m not afraid of the imbalances in my life but inspired and optimistic that there’s still hope for me!

    1. Hi Marco . what a great piece.we all need more balance in our lives. i know i do. and so does grandpa. we just seem to go on doing the same old same old. it’s time to get off the merry-go-round. your piece was a wake-up call. thanks grandma natalie

  3. Hi Marco,
    What a great topic & fabulous write up! I read it thinking about how at any age all of us humans are balancing something at any given time in our lives! My thoughts ranging in two areas. The physical & emotional. Physical being a little person learning to walk, Nico & Julia ice skating & fruit basket on a ladies head at a market. The emotional being how we feel as we balance our everyday way in our feeelings with our friends & family. You should see the crazy amount of imbalance of pure joy & happiness when 2 Dente children ask Siri how many days there are left until Christmas!!

  4. Hey Marco – super answer to a very complex question. Even though often elusive, I need to continue to strive for balance in all aspects of my life. Thanks for the great insights and inspiration!
    Aunt D
    ps salted caramel rocks!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *